Simple Questions, Complex Answers?

There is seemingly no shortage to questions about the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Some of my posts, particularly those in the “Apologetics” category, will represent my attempt to answer various questions about the Church and its’ doctrine or positions.

I have learned that, in regards to these questions, there is always a simple answer. I’ve also learned that the simple answer is almost always wrong.

Speaking of people’s tendency to accept or provide overly simple explanations, Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. said,

“I wouldn’t give a fig for the simplicity on this side of complexity; I would give my right arm for the simplicity on the far side of complexity.”

It seems human nature to seek simplicity. When concepts are simple they take less effort to understand and explain. This often leads us to look first and more fervently for the simplest answer. Consequently, we often miss out on the right answer or the best answer.

The views I share, the answers I provide, will not always be “simple.” This is not because I am avoiding being direct. Rather, it’s because the best answers are not always the simplest ones. I would be doing my (roughly three) readers a disservice were I to keep from putting a sincere effort into answering these questions effectively.

For that matter, readers do themselves a disservice when they don’t put a sincere effort into considering all the relevant information.

But I will absolutely be authentic, and as simple as I am able while still remaining appropriate and accurate. In doing this, my hope is that you will find my posts to be worth at least more than a fig.

7 thoughts on “Simple Questions, Complex Answers?”

Leave a Reply

