Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – You and Me (But Mostly Me)

For a list of all the posts in this series, see here.

Background

Elder Price and Elder Cunningham, fresh from the MTC, are in an airport on their way to their mission in Uganda.

Full Lyrics – “You and Me (But Mostly Me)”

Elder Price: I’ve always had the hope that on the day I go to heaven
Heavenly Father will shake my hand and say, “You’ve done an awesome job, Kevin!”
Now it’s our time to go out and set the world’s people free
And we can do it together, you and me – but mostly me!

You and me – but mostly me – are gonna change the world forever
‘Cause I can do most anything!

Elder Cunningham: And I can stand next to you and watch!

Elder Price: Every hero needs a sidekick;
Every captain needs a mate! (Aye, aye!)

Every dinner needs a side dish –

Elder Cunningham: On a slightly smaller plate

Both: And now we’re seeing eye to eye, it’s so great we can agree
That Heavenly Father has chosen you and me –

Elder Price: Just mostly me!

Something incredible…. I’ll do something incredible
I want to be the Mormon who changed all of mankind
It’s something I’ve foreseen – Now that I’m nineteen
I’ll do something incredible that blows God’s freaking mind!

Both: And as long as we stick together

Elder Cunningham: – and I stay out of your way! (Out of my way!)
We will change the world –

Both: – forever!

Elder Cunningham: And make tomorrow a latter day! (Mostly me!)
So quit singing about it

Both: – and do it!
How ready and psyched are we?!
And life is about to change for you
And life is about to change for me
And life is about to change for you and me…

Elder Price: But me mostly!

And there’s no limit to
What we can do
Me and you
But mostly me!

10 thoughts on “Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – You and Me (But Mostly Me)”

Leave a Reply

