Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – I Am Africa

All the posts in this series.

Go back to “I Am Africa”.

Loving those You Serve
“I am Africa” 

Much like the songs “You and Me (But Mostly Me)”,  “Sal Tlay Ka Siti”, and “Man Up”, there is not much in this song that merits a response.

I would still like to talk, though, about the feelings of missionaries towards the people and countries they serve. This song may be poking fun at the naivete of the young men – they think something as outlandish as “I am Africa” when they almost just pass through before returning to a life of ease back in the states – but this is a very real feeling that is almost universal among returned LDS missionaries. After dedicating so much of your life to a group of people, a bond just forms naturally. After my mission, there will always be a soft spot in my heart for those in the islands.

2 thoughts on “Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – I Am Africa”

Leave a Reply

