Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – I Am Africa

For a list of all the posts in this series, see here.

Background

After the baptism of the villagers, the missionaries feel a great oneness with the people. They celebrate and sing.

Full Lyrics – “I Am Africa”

Elder McKinley: I am Africa
I am Africa
With the strength of the cheetah
My native voice will ring

Elders: We are Africa!
We are the heartbeat of Africa!

Elder Schrader: With the rhino

Elder Thomas: The meerkat

Elder Church: The noble lion king

Elders: We are Africa!

We are the winds of the Serentgeti
We are the sweat of the jungle man
We are the tears of Nelson Mandela
We are the lost boy of the Sudan

Elder Cunningham: I am Africa!
Just like Bono, I am Africa!
I flew in here, and became one with this land!

Elders: Ha na heya!  Za ba neyba! 

Elder Cunningham: I’m not a follower anymore
No, now I’m frickin’ Africa!
With my Zulu spear
I run barefoot through the sand!

I am Africa!

Elders: Ha na heya za ba ney

We are Africa
We are the one, the only Africa
And the life we live is primitive and proud!

(Let us smile and laughrica!)

We are Africa!
We are the deepest, darkest Africa!
We are the fields and fertile forests well endowed!

We are Africa!

Elder McKinley: We are the sunrise on the Savannah

Elder Zelder: A monkey with a banana

Elder Church: A tribal woman who doesn’t wear a bra

Elders: Africans are African
But we are Africa!

3 thoughts on “Mormon Observations on “The Book of Mormon” the Musical – I Am Africa”

Leave a Reply

